Erasmus Mundus student scholarship 2019 – MSc in Sustainable Tropical Forestry


Erasmus Mundus student scholarship 2019Applications are now open for the 2019 Erasmus Mundus student scholarship – MSc in Sustainable Tropical Forestry .This two-year MSc in Sustainable Tropical Forestry (SUTROFOR) prepares qualified graduates to deal with the complex aspects of contemporary tropical forestry. The programme provides the students with:

  • a firm theoretical foundation
  • ability to function on the international scene, and openness to foreign cultures
  • all competencies needed for working as a researcher or in tropical forest practices, e.g. development agencies, consultancies, NGOs, international organisations, ministries, governmental agencies, or district forest offices.


The topic of sustainable tropical forestry is of global importance. Between one and two billion people depend on wood-based fuel; non-wood forest products and services are crucial to the livelihood of more than one billion poor people mainly in rural areas; timber is an important commodity for both the domestic economy and for export; and the citizens in developing countries are increasingly concerned with the fate of tropical forests. The potential for trees and forests to contribute to the sustainable development in tropical and subtropical countries is increasingly recognised and included in poverty alleviation strategies.

Application deadline: 15 January


The SUTROFOR Consortium

The SUTROFOR MSc Course is organised by a Consortium which includes five of the best European universities within the field of forest and nature management:

  • University of Copenhagen, Faculty of Science, Department of Food and Resource Economics, Copenhagen (Denmark)
  • Bangor University, School of the Environment and Natural Resources, Bangor (UK)
  • Dresden University of Technology, Institute of International Forestry and Forest Products, Tharandt (Germany)
  • AgroParisTech, Paris Institute of Technology for Life, Food and Environmental Sciences, Montpellier (France)
  • University of Padova, TESAF Department, School of Agriculture, Padova (Italy)

The SUTROFOR Consortium also includes the following non-European associate partners: Tribhuvan University in Nepal, Sokoine University of Agriculture in Tanzania, Centro Agronómico Tropical de Investigación y Enseñanza in Costa Rica and Makerere University, Uganda.

Admission requirements

Applicants with a Bachelor’s degree in the following are directly academically qualified for admission to the MSc Programme:

  • Bachelor’s degree within the area of forestry, agriculture, biology, geography or economics  from other Danish, Nordic or international universities.
  • Bachelor’s degree in Agriculture, Biology, Geography and Geoinformatics, Natural Ressources or Economics from the University of Copenhagen.
  • Bachelor’s degree in Biology, Agrobiology or Economics from Aarhus University.
  • Bachelor’s degree in Biology or Geography from Aalborg University
  • Bachelor’s degree in Biology, Technological and Socio-Economic Planning (TekSam-Miljøplanlægning), Natural Sciences or Geography as well as the International Bachelor’s degree in Natural Sciences from Roskilde University
  • Bachelor’s degree in Biology from University of Southern Denmark
  • Professional Bachelor’s degree in Forest and Landscape Engineering or Urban Landscape Engineering from the University of Copenhagen.

Learn about when and how to apply.

Language requirements

You are required to document proficiency in English according to your background; see the language requirements.

Furthermore, students applying with AgroParisTech, Montpellier, as second year university are required to document proficiency in French corresponding to DELF B2.

Application process for Citizens from a country outside the EU, EEA or Switzerland 

When to apply

The application portal opens: 15 October
Application deadline: 15 January

Application fees

Citizens from a country outside the EU, EEA or Switzerland must pay an application fee.

Participation fees

Citizens from a country outside the EU, EEA or Switzerland must pay participation cost.

Erasmus Mundus student scholarship

Partner Country Scholarships

These scholarships can be awarded to masters students from all countries other than the EU member states and EEA/EFTA states: Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM), Iceland, Lichtenstein and Norway. Furthermore, you must comply with a 12 months rule: i.e you must not be a resident nor have carried out your main activity (studies, work etc.) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in one of these countries.

To be eligible for evaluation your application for a student scholarship must include a certificate – i.e. an official document – verifying your place of residence.

This can either be:

  • In the form of a residence certificate issued (signed and stamped) in accordance with your municipality, region or state’s normal registration rules
  • In the form of an official letter (signed and stamped) by your current place of work, study or training confirming your current occupation/activity and place of residence.
  • In the form of an invoice, which clearly states the date, name and complete address.

Neither of these documents can be more than 12 months old calculated backwards as from the submission deadline.

The verification of residence is to be submitted as part of your application for admission and student scholarship. Without this document you application for a student scholarship will be incomplete and regarded as ineligible.

Please note that students with an Erasmus+: Erasmus Mundus scholarship may NOT conduct fieldwork in their country of origin (a restrict in imposed by the European Union; can not be negotiated).

Scholarships amounts

Contribution to the travel and installation costs 2000 EUR per year for travel costs + 1000 EUR for installation costs for scholarship holders resident of a Partner Country whose location is situated at less than 4.000 km from the EMMJC coordinating HEI
3000 EUR per year for travel costs + 1000 EUR for installation costs for scholarship holders resident of a Partner Country whose location is situated at 4.000 km or more from the EMMJC coordinating HEI


The contribution to installation costs is an incentive to help covering the additional costs related to the issuing of visas, residence permits, etc. as well as the temporary accommodation needs upon arrival in the first hosting HEI.

Contribution to subsistence costs

Contribution to subsistence costs 1000 EUR per month for the entire duration (120 ECTS)of the EMJMD study programme (24 months maximum) 


Please be aware that the first monthly contribution to subsistence cost as well as the contribution to travel and installation costs will be paid only upon arrival at the first host university. Also be aware that since no cash payments are facilitated and your formal registration with local authorities upon arrival may be required prior to your establishment of a bank account, the first payment may not be accessible for several weeks upon your arrival.

Contribution to subsistence costs must not be given to:

  • Scholarship holders for the EMMC periods (study/research/placement/thesis preparation) spent in their country of residence.

Selection Criteria

If the number of qualified applicants exceeds the number of scholarships available, applicants will be prioritized as follows:

Eligible scholarship applications are assessed using the following four selection criteria:

  • Academic excellence
  • Recommendations
  • Relevant work experience
  • Personal experience

For more information and application,please visit Official site :


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here