Twelve Young Rwandan Leaders Left Kigali to Participate in the Fifth YALI Washington Fellowship


Date: June 19,2018

The U.S. Embassy is proud to announce that twelve dynamic and experienced young Rwandans departed Kigali today to attend the fifth Young African Leadership Initiative  Mandela Washington Fellowship.  They will join 700 other young African leaders for a six- week program, and will be hosted by 12 prestigious U.S. universities, followed by a conference in Washington, DC..  The 12 Rwandan recipients were selected from over 800 Rwandan applicants and represent an extraordinary group of leaders already making important contributions in entrepreneurship, public administration, and civil society in their communities

The Mandela Washington Fellowship for Young African Leaders is the flagship program of the Young African Leaders Initiative (YALI) that empowers young people through academic coursework, leadership training, and networking. The Fellowship will provides outstanding young leaders from Sub-Saharan Africa the opportunity to hone their talents at a U.S. higher education institution with support for continued professional development after they return home. Institutes focus on leadership and skills development in one of three tracks: Business and Entrepreneurship, Civic Leadership, or Public Management.

In the past decades since the inaguaration of the Mandela Washington Fellowship and the larger YALI program have become a model for exchanges in Southeast Asia, the Americas, and in Europe.  There is the Young Southeast Asian Leaders Initiative (YSEALI), Young Leaders of the Americas Initiative (YLAI) and the Young Transatlantic Innovation Leaders Initiative (YTILI).

Since the inaugural of Young African Leadership Initiative (YALI) Washington Fellowship last held in 2014, there are 54 Rwandans that have been awarded to attend the prestigious Fellowship. The most recent recipients include, Angelique Ingabire, Bienvenue Muragwa, Emmanuel Tuyisenge, Frank Gakwaya Abaho, Irenee Kamanzi, Isaac Rutagwenda Rugamba, Jacqueline Tumukunde, Jean Claude Muhire, Justine Bagirisano, Kellya Uwiragiye, Patrick Dufitimana and Theoneste Ngiruwonsanga.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here