UNESCO-Greece Melina Mercouri International Prize


The UNESCO-Greece Melina Mercouri International Prize for the Safeguarding and Management of Cultural Landscapes was created in 1995 to reward outstanding examples of action to safeguard and enhance the world’s cultural landscapes, a category of World Heritage.The Prize, generously supported by the Greek Government, bears the name of Melina Mercouri, former Minister of Culture of Greece and a strong advocate of integrated conservation.

UNESCO-Greece Melina Mercouri International Prize


Individuals, site managers, institutions, other entities, communities or non-governmental organizations (NGOs) that have made a significant contribution to the safeguarding, management and enhancement of the world’s major cultural landscapes.


The US $30,000 Prize is awarded every two years to one laureate.The next Prize will be awarded in Autumn 2019, in connection with the 40th Session of the UNESCO General Conference.

How to apply?

Submit a nomination form online, in English or French, between 30 November 2018 and 30 April 2019 (midnight Paris time) at: http://whc.unesco.org/en/culturallandscapesprize

The nomination process takes place online through the UNESCO website. The online nominations should be received by UNESCO in English or French by 30 April 2019 at the latest (midnight Paris time, UTC+1)

Who may submit nominations for the Prize?

  • Governmental agencies from UNESCO Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions for UNESCO;
  • NGOs that have official partnerships with UNESCO; and
  • International, regional and national professional, academic and non-governmental organizations active in the field of cultural landscapes.

For more information,please visit https://whc.unesco.org/en/culturallandscapesprize/


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here