University of Aberdeen : David Carey Miller Scholarship 2019 for african students


There is one David Carey Miller Scholarship available. It covers overseas tuition fees to support one postgraduate student from Sub-Saharan Africa through a one-year full-time on-campus Taught Master of Laws degree programme (LLM) at the University of Aberdeen, starting in September 2019. The scholarship also offers travel costs as detailed below.


The David Carey Miller Scholarship provides:

Overseas Tuition Fees for the 2019/20 academic year (these are either £15,900, £17,900 or £19,800 depending on the Taught Masters of Laws degree programme chosen).

Travel: one return economy flight from the applicant’s home location to Aberdeen arranged by the School of Law.


The scholarship is open to applicants holding an offer of admission for a one-year full-time on-campus Taught Masters of Laws degree programme (LLM) at the University of Aberdeen starting in September 2019. The scholarship is not open to applicants wishing to study the programme on a part-time basis.

Only applicants domiciled in Sub-Saharan Africa and classified by the University as Overseas for tuition fee purposes are eligible to apply for the scholarship.


The scholarship will be awarded on the basis of academic merit.

Application Procedure

Please read the guidelines fully before completing the application form. To apply, please click the ‘Apply Now’ button below. Please complete the application form and select the ‘David Carey Miller Scholarship’ as the scholarship that you are applying for. Once you have fully completed the application form, click ‘Submit Form’. You will then receive an automated email confirming that your application has been received.

Deadline : 31st of May 2019

Further Info

If you have any queries not answered by the guidelines, please email

The outcome of scholarship applications will be communicated by email by mid-June 2019.

Application Docs

The David Carey Miller Scholarship Guidelines 2019/20.doc

Eligible Countries

  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo (Zaire)
  • Congo, Republic of
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here