United Nation’s Global Climate Action Awards 2019


The search for the United Nation’s Global Climate Action Awards is on! Applications are being accepted from 11 February through 30 April 2019. Spearheaded by UN Climate Change’s Momentum for Change initiative, the UN Global Climate Action Award shines a light on the most innovative, scalable and replicable examples of what people around the world are doing to tackle climate change.

If you are leading a results-driven project that is successfully addressing climate change, we want to hear from you!

Who can apply?

Organizations, communities, cities, businesses, universities, governments and others that are taking concrete action on climate change can apply to have their projects recognized by the UN Climate Change secretariat as a 2019 Lighthouse Activity.

Why should you apply?

If your project is selected as a winning activity under the Women for Results, Planetary Health, or Climate Neutral Now categories, you will receive a wide range of benefits, including fully covered attendance to the UN Climate Change Conference in Chile; access to policy makers and potential funders during the conference; public recognition by the UN Climate Change secretariat; public relations support and media training; marketing materials, including promotional videos; a dedicated page about your project on our website; and professional photography.

Note: Winning projects under the Financing for Climate Friendly Investment category will need to be self-funded to the conference and provide their own video and photo materials.

How to apply for United Nation’s Global Climate Action Awards?

To start a new application, register in our online application portal. It will take at least an hour to complete an application. You can save your progress at any time and work on it at your convenience. Completed applications must be submitted by midnight GMT on 30 April 2019.

We recommend using Chrome, Mozilla Firefox and Safari for the best experience with the application portal.

Please visit the Essential Information page for essential eligibility information about the application process.

Take a 7-minute tour of the application process. Watch the screencast for step-by-step instructions on how to apply for United Nation’s Global Climate Action Awards


Key areas

Applicants must choose one of the following four focus areas where their activity is making a difference.


Recognizing the critical leadership and participation of women in addressing climate change.


Recognizing successful financial innovations and funding mechanisms that are unlocking climate finance and building capacity.


Recognizing novel solutions that balance the need for both human health and a healthy planet.


Recognizing efforts by individuals, companies and governments that are achieving real results in transitioning to climate neutrality.

For more information,please visit //momentum.unfccc.int/


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here