University of Strathclyde, Glasgow – Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2020-2021


Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are offered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) in partnership with UK universities. These scholarships are intended for candidates from least developed and lower middle income Commonwealth countries for full-time Masters study on selected courses. Funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), these Scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development, and are aimed at those who could not otherwise afford to study in the UK.

  • Number of scholarships :7
  • Value : Tuition Fees, Living costs, return travel to UK and other expenses
  • Deadline 18 December 2019
  • Help with Tuition fees, Living costs, Travel costs
  • Duration One-off award


To apply for these scholarships, you must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person;
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country;
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in Sep/Oct 2020;
  • Hold a first degree of *at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Masters degree). The CSC would not normally fund a second UK Master’s degree.
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country (as classified by the World Bank);
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship.

 *The University will give preference to candidates who already hold a first degree with FIRST CLASS HONOURS (or equivalent). 

The eligible courses for 2020 are:

The 2020 Terms and Conditions as well as the list of courses, insitutions and eligible countries are available on the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission’s website at:

The CSC aims to identify talented individuals who have the potential to make change.  They are committed to a policy of equal opportunity and non-discrimination, and encourage applications from a diverse range of candidates and eligible countries.

These scholarships do not cover undergraduate courses, PhD study, or any pre-sessional English language teaching, and are tenable for one year only.

For more details,please visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here